Singapore Computer Society Honours Tech Laureates


The Singapore Computer Society (SCS) held the presentation of its rebranded Tech Leader Awards at a gala dinner this evening at Hotel Shangri-La Singapore.

The event which was graced by Guest of Honour Minister Josephine Teo, Minister for Communications and Information (MCI), is one of the most highly anticipated annual events on the nation’s tech calendar after a two-year hiatus due to the COVID-19 pandemic. Organized within a month’s time following the Government’s announcement on the further relaxation of COVID-19 safety management measures at the of March, the event hosted a full capacity of 600 guests comprising prominent figures and organizations from the tech industry.

The Tech Leader Awards is the nation’s highly esteemed tech award which celebrates the stalwarts of excellence and innovation within Singapore’s pulsating tech industry. SCS moved in tandem to rebrand the Awards as the nation moves forward to emerge better and stronger, and as digitalization became increasingly pervasive.

The Awards is also an important platform for the local tech scene to give due recognition to individuals, teams, and organizations whose works in Digitalisation and Transformation have positively impacted the lives of people and the industry.

Prior to its rebranding, the Awards were inaugurated in 1997 as IT Leader Awards, held as an annual national award to celebrate the outstanding achievements of experienced industry leaders.

The rebranded Awards signalled a stronger and a more inclusive recognition of the array of contributions by individuals, teams and organizations in the digital transformation of our society – comprising tech professionals in the tech industry, entrepreneurs and adopters of digital technologies across a range of tech and non-tech sectors, the young and the old, covering the present, past, now, and future.

The Tech Leader Awards 2022 comprised four categories:

  1. Tech Leader of the Year – Honours individuals who are at the forefront of disruption and innovation and have a track record of outstanding contributions to the infocomm and digital media industry beyond the personal realm of immediate business interest.
  2. Hall of Fame – Honours individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the local infocomm and digital media industry over an extended period of time.
  3. Digital Achievers (Individuals / Teams) – Honour those who have implemented digital infrastructure, platforms, and applications that benefited multiple companies or organizations by enabling a significant breakthrough in the delivery of products and/or services to businesses and/or society. Nominees could include both the tech sector and other sectors e.g. Accounting, Banking & Finance, Human Resource, Manufacturing, Legal, Logistics, etc.
  4. Future Leaders in Tech (Individuals / Teams) – Honours young people who are 30 and below, made outstanding contributions to the industry/society while he/she is a full-time students in school or institute of higher learning in Singapore. They should also have instilled a passion for tech amongst his/her peers.

A total number of 17 Tech Leader Awards 2022 were presented to nine individuals and eight teams. The judging panel that presided over the Awards was made up of judges from various sectors such as business, public, and academia.


Comments are closed.

Visit Us On TwitterVisit Us On FacebookVisit Us On LinkedinVisit Us On Youtube